The Productivity Project

9781101904039When I heard about Chris Bailey’s The Productivity Project I was extremely excited to get my hands on a copy of the book because I had heard a lot of great things about it; however, once I actually had the book in my hands and began reading it my mood quickly turned lukewarm.

My hopes before I started reading The Productivity Project was to discover some new tips or skills when it came to being more productive; however, the information was more of the same of any productivity book I have read in the past: Discover your purpose, write your goals down, do the hardest task first, create a to-do list, etc.

Each chapter is set up at the beginning to give you a brief synopsis about what the chapter will be about to get your mind thinking as you read, followed up with questions at the end of the chapter to help reinforce what you have learned. The questions were fine, but because they were the usual run-of-the-mill type of set up that I didn’t even bother answering the questions.

Although the book was written in an engaging matter that kept me reading, I found myself reading just for the sake of reading and not learning anything new. I would, however, recommend this book for those who have never read a productivity book before and are struggling to get things done in their life; on the other hand, if you know what to do to get things done and you’re not doing them, then you’re just a procrastinator and this book is just distracting you from getting things done.

Leave a Reply

